October 17, 2016

The miracles just keep on coming

I have been pondering a scripture a lot recently that seems to have taken on a very special and deeply profound meaning for me. In the Book of Mormon, chapter 9 of Mormon, Moroni talks of God as being a God of miracles. I have thought several times over his following statement:

15 And now, O all ye that have imagined up unto yourselves a god who can do no miracles, I would ask of you, have all these things passed, of which I have spoken?Has the end come yet? Behold I say unto you, Nay; and God has not ceased to be a God of miracles.

16 Behold, are not the things that God hath brought marvelous in our eyes? Yea, and who can comprehend the marvelous works of God?

When I first got to the mission, in my first interview with President Rowley, he asked me a question I still remember strongly: Elder Cruz, have you seen the hand of God in your mission? I don’t quite remember what I said right then and there, but many times throughout the mission I have experienced miracles, blessings, guidance, and sometimes what seems to be just pure luck and so I think I can safely answer now, more than a year later, that yes, I have seen His hand in my mission and in my life, and it has been life changing.

Last Sunday we had 10 investigators present in our sacrament meeting, many of whom we weren’t even counting on. The ward was astounded to say the least, just as much as we were. When they I asked us, “Elders, did you guys bring all these people?” all I could say was “I suppose so?”. Truly it was a miracle, one that Elder Norman and I have been praying for since our first week as companions. Among these investigators is an older sister named Hilda who we will be baptizing on the 29th. It was hard for to sit through sacrament since she suffers from severe leg pains and she needs to keep her feet elevated. There isn’t too much room on the church benches unfortunately. We provided her with her own personal bench to sit on during gospel principles class haha, but she had a great time. I am always amazed at how God can touch the hearts of people and make them willing to come to his chapel and partake of his spirit. I don’t know how it is in other places of the world but for the people her, attending church Sunday morning is a ridiculous sacrifice and challenge. I was sincerely not counting on such a blessing this week but once again God has shown me that he does indeed work miracles and just like it says in Mormon, I cannot comprehend fully the “marvelous works of God” but I know they are real, for I have seen them.

Elder Cruz

Leave a Reply

