August 22, 2016

Another transfer past and gone here in the mission and this time we went out with a pretty big bang. Elder Troncos and I have been working with 3 part member families for the past 6 weeks and right before getting finishing up this transfer we managed to help each of them reach the waters of baptism.

 Our three little investigators were Ariana, Maria, and Julio. Ariana and Maria are both 9 and Julio is 12. Each one of them come from families whose fathers are not very present in their lives, and for the most part have been left to grow on their own and with their mothers. Julio was an exceptionally big struggle because for literally months he would reject our invitations to be baptized. I don’t know how exactly it happened, but I think our ever constant persistence and prayers finally wrought a miracle in his life because one day out of the clear blue sky he accepted and said he would be baptized on the 20th. 

 Thinking back on our time with these 3 young souls, it brings a smile to my face to know that his gospel does indeed unite families. I remember meeting each of them for the first time, their home life wasn’t exactly all too pleasant. But as we taught them and just showed them how much we really cared, the Spirit took over their homes and I saw miraculous changes in the hearts and actions of the members of each family. There was less contention, less anger, more understanding and a lot more smiles and laughs. The day of their baptism was spectacular. The other Elders from Lopez Albujar baptized a recently wedded couple and 2 other Elders from another ward baptized a young lady for a total of 6 baptisms in one go. President Rasmussen even showed up to attend.

 Its been a long time since I have been a participant in such a large baptismal service. It is always amazing to me how much God really does prepare the way for his children. His miracles are real and they astound me. I remember a very favorite scripture of mine in the book of Alma 26, when Ammon recounts, 

 Now behold, we can look forth and see the fruits of our labors; and are they few? I say unto you, Nay, they are many; yea, and we can witness of their sincerity, because of their love towards their brethren and also towards us.

 Our zone finished this transfer with a total of 14 Baptisms. I, like Ammon, add my testimony to the divinity of this work. Our labors are never in vain, and the fruits of our labors are indeed many.

 Elder Cruz

One thought on “August 22, 2016

  1. I am very proud of you Elder Cruz, you always inspire me with your messages. I love you and excited to see you in.December.

    Love.
    Tita gemma

    Like

Leave a Reply

