March 7, 2016

Hey friends and family. This week was a little more interesting than the last that’s for sure. For the first time since I left Washington we got actual, real, hard hitting rain here in Paita and it is…well its an adventure. Needless to say, the people around here did NOT see this one coming, and now we found ourselves with flooded houses, giant mud puddles, and over flooded streets.

 Here in Paita it almost never ever rains, so there are practically no built in sewer or drain systems. Its even worse in the area where we actually go proselyting, because there are not actual streets, just dirt roads. Basically, when the rain came all the streets turned to mud and a lot of houses got flooded, ours included. I woke up at 3 AM last night, hopped off the bunk bed and lo and behold I landed in a swimming pool. I don’t know how the water got in but after seeing our shoes floating around like little boats I knew that we had some work to do. Long story short, my companion and I spent the morning de-flooding our room. Luckily, nothing got too damaged, but my shoes are still not completely dry yet.

 We had transfer this last week and for the first time in my mission I will be staying in an area for more than 3 transfers. I am still district leader and look like I will be here for at least 2 more months. The work has taken an interesting turn for us, a lot of our efforts with investigators have been slipping through the cracks, but we are finding much success with our less actives and our reactivation efforts. We had a mother and her daughter come to church with us last Sunday after being less active for the past 4 years or so. We recently found a less active woman and her family while out trackting and the rest of her family said yes to the baptismal invitation. We have a long, long way to go before we see some real results but at least for me, I have seen plenty of miracles this week. The Lords hand is guiding us in all we do, and I suppose these past few months I have been a little hard on myself. I remember a scripture a very wise missionary shared with me once that said “Be still, and know that I am God”. I am thankful for the tranquility and peace I have been able to find out here in spite of so many trials and disappointments. Many times when I wanted to quit all I needed to do was be still, and recognize that this is Gods work, not mine.

Love Elder Cruz

 

Leave a Reply

