December 8, 2015

Dear Families and Friends,DSCN9850[1]

Sorry for the late heads up, but our P-Day got switched to a Tuesday this week, so I was unable to send a letter home last Monday. Hope you didnt get too scared. I am still alive, still breathing, still Elder Cruz. Yesterday we had a all day Christmas devotional with our mission President and his wife in the mission house. It was day full of christmas carols, testimonies, videos, and of course, me and my violin (once again more musical numbers for me).

 I love this time of the year. Especially as a missionary, my testimony of the life and purpose of the Lord Jesus Christ is magnified is made even that more special this sacred time of year. This month we celebrate the birth of a savior, and I am proud to say that as one of his representatives here in Piura, I can testify as to why he came to this earth on that starry night so long ago in the little town of Bethlehem. He was born, that we may be born again. He was born, so that the entire world would never have to feel the sting of death. As his humble missionary, I testify of his own humility and his obedience. The first coming of the Savior of the world was not accompanied by angelic fanfare nor great choruses of praise, but rather a simple stable, swaddling clothes, and a radiantly shining star.

 The only thing I hope to instill in the hearts of my investigators this month is the comfort and peace of heart that came to those sheperds in the field when the angels told them to “fear not” for a savior had been born, who is Christ the Lord. It is my hope that even in my toughest and darkest moments, the same star in the sky that guided the wise men to the Lord Jesus can also guide me back to him whenever I fail.

 We have been working hard not only with investigators but with members and even ourselves to really come together and celebrate this special time of year. On the 12 of December, we will have our branch christmas fireside. I will be playing a special arrangement of Silent night with my district. Reminds of back when I was like 12, I played that same hymn with Josh and another brother from the ward who played violin. I think now my music skills are a little more improved haha.

 Transfers are coming up soon. We will see where my companion ends up (that is, if he does get transfered). Some friends of mine will be heading home this transfer, hearing their testimonies always brings a little tear to my eyes.

 Thanks for everything (no I still didnt get the package but soon!)

 Sincerely,

 Elder Cruz

 

Leave a Reply

