September 7, 2015

Dear family and friends,

 I am not entirely sure how I want to start this one out. This week has more or less been average in all aspects of the missionary work here in my area. The stake has been working very closely with our little branch to support us and get us moving. Many have traveled here the past few Sundays to lend us a hand and help us create plans for visiting and home teachers, fulfilling empty callings, and ensuring that every less active member will be attended to. We are also in the process of planning many fellowshipping activities and future additions to our branch that will bring us up to par. As missionaries and as the Branch Presidents counselors and secretaries, you can imagine our workload. This in addition to our regular proselyting schedule has taken a large physical toll on me. I come home pretty tired every night.

 Spiritually speaking however, I have never felt so strengthened. I do not know what’s changed, but my prayers seem more peaceful, the words of the scriptures resonate more powerfully and in spite of all our trials I can still find reasons to smile. My fellow missionaries are a wonderful help and I can honestly say I have met some life long friends out here on the mission. The words of Elder Bednar are still ringing in my head and this inspired Apostle has brought about many changes in the way we run this mission. its actually pretty exciting.

 In other news, many of the people here are preparing for a rainstorm that apparently occurs in these parts every few years or so. If it actually happens, lots of houses and crops will be going down so everyone is waiting in anticipation. I don’t know how this will affect our proselyting schedule but we will just have to stay tuned. Fun note, I went to an American restaurant last P Day, spent a ridiculous amount of money on some hot wings, and I don’t think I have every missed hot wings as much before in my life. Haha.

 My new companion and continue to work and work and work. I thank you all for your constant prayers for us and your love that you send every week.

 Sincerely,

 Elder Cruz

Dear Mom,

 Seeing missionaries in my own house makes me feel a little weird because now I actually know how they feel in the missionary lessons haha. It makes me happy to see that the family is still standing strong in the church and that although many familiar faces have left Alderwood 1st ward, we still got some good friends back home. Kaleb wrote me lately, said that he spends more time in my house now that I am not there hahaha go figure. I pray that he will be able to make the transition back into the mission field safely and swiftly. The Lord needs him for sure.

 Just wanna let you know how much your example means to me. Your weekly emails offer me something that just cant simply be found in the scriptures or the words of the prophets. Yours is truly a special example to me. It brings me back to one of my favorite scriptures in the book of Alma, when it talks about the 2000 stripling warriors. Captain Helaman recounts that they were all righteous, true, and obedient because they had been taught by their mothers to work uprightly before God. He recounts that when he asked them if they were willing to fight they repeated back to him the words of their mothers of the power and goodness of God, and they “did not doubt their mothers knew it”. You have shown me your testimony many times over the years and I am sorry it took me so long to realize it. I too, just like those 2000 young men, do not doubt that my mother knows this gospel is true. Thanks mom.

 

Your son,

 

Elder Cruz

One thought on “September 7, 2015

  1. Dear Elder Cruz, Have enjoyed these Blogs and found much needed inspiration from them. Your missives are written in such a way that I can see and feel your progress on the Lord’s Mission and envision the people and locale, even if there were no photos. I could write “And I Stand All Amazed” at the Work being accomplished on this Mission, because that is true. But I am not “All Amazed” at your Faith and Zeal, because I know you, and always knew that it would be the way of all things for you. Do you know the old Beatles Song, Ob La Di, Ob La Da? It is a happy song. I close with the lyrics “Life Goes On, Bra La La How the Life Goes On from Uncle Don date: Tue, 8 Sep 2015 00:03:18 +0000 To: anschutz1418@live.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

