August 10, 2015

DSCN1521[1]

can't look - this will be my dinner tonight

can’t look – this will be my dinner tonight

DSCN1625[1] DSCN1670[1] DSCN1701[1] DSCN1704[1] DSCN1710[1] DSCN1716[1] DSCN1858[1] DSCN1864[1] RSCN1822[1]Dear family and friends,

 I got some big news. I still cant believe it myself but check this out: this coming transfer cycle I am going to be training a brand new missionary! I thought I wouldn’t have this opportunity until much later in the mission. After all, I only have like 7 months or so. I was under the impression that I would need more experience or more time to be able to train a new Elder, but obviously the Lord had other plans for me. You can only imagine my surprise when my District Leader told me the news. I had him repeat it for me 2 times, and then I asked his companion to explain it to me again in English just so I could be sure.

 I cant help but feel so incredibly humbled for this opportunity. Honestly, this entire past transfer I have been pleading and praying with the Lord every night for something, anything that could help us hasten the work here in Morropon. I feel that this is the answer I have been seeking, and that a new Elder with a fresh mind and bright spirit may be just what we need. There are a lot of things I need to prepare and I am still at a loss as to how I am going to teach a new Elder and things I need to know first for myself in order to do so, but I feel the presence of the Lord very strongly even now and I know he will support and guide me.

 My companion is being sent off to another zone called Capullanas. The night before we had to part ways he sat down with me and told me something. He said that when we had our last interviews with our Mission President, he said he did everything he could to convince President to give me this training assignment. Basically, he talked me up big time. He put his hand on my shoulder and told me what a great missionary I was, and through all the difficulties we have had he said he always looked to me to know what to do next. It was hard not to cry, seriously. What a blessing it was.

 I wont be seeing my new companion until Wednesday but I will be sure to tell you how everything goes next week. Honestly I am so excited and a little terrified. I have been praying harder more than I ever have that the Lord will bless me and my new companion. Still very nervous, but I cant wait to get started.

 That’s all for now. Stay tuned.

 Sincerely,

 Elder Cruz

One thought on “August 10, 2015

  1. Hi Justin,

    Thanks for your letter and sharing your missionary experience. I know that you will be a great trainor and that your new companion will learn a lot from you. You have grown so much from the 7 months that you are serving on your mission. And that’s because of your humility and love for missionary work. I know that as you continue to pray and fast that you will continue to increase in wisdom (Alma 17:2-3) and the Spirit will direct you on what you need to do.

    Take care,
    Tita Jossie

    Like

Leave a Reply

