March 3, 2015

Words dont begin to describe my experiences out here in the field thus far. Yep, thats right, I have officially left the bubble of the Peru MTC and am a full time missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and what a pleasure it is to bear that title. The name of my first area is called Catacaos, a dusty yet lively little city out here in Piura. It sort of reminds me a bit of Tarlac. It is a little more urban as you move toward the center but around where I live and as you go further out, you begin to see the real condition of living these people have and my heart and soul have been so humbled by this experience.

My new living space is a nice little apartment filled with a limited amount of running, non safe water, plenty of house flies, enough dust to fill a desert, and enough heat to make you sweat uncontrollably. Basically, I am living the good life. My first companion and trainer is an Elder from Argentina named Elder Casimiro. His Spanish is so fluent I cant hardly understand him but his heart is big and he has been a tremendous help. In terms of teaching and such, I am excited to tell you that we have an investigator with a baptismal date already! What a blessing!

Adjusting to life out here in the field has been a real challenge to be quite honest. There are moments where I just feel so broken, so lost, so inadequate because I cannot for the life of me understand the natives here. They all speak so fast and I just speak so…not fast. The desert heat doesnt help much either. My spirit has been brought low at times I will admit, and yes, I have cried once or twice.

However hard my new challenges may be, I do not go though any of them without recognizing the hand of the Lord in my life. Truly I have been blessed and every day I am able to walk out my apartment door with my nametag pinned to shirt pocket, a book of mormon in hand, and the message of the restored gospel is an indescribable blessing. Mom, I wont lie and say that everything has been easy, but if there is one thing I have come to learn its that life is not easy. Life, especially as a new missionary, was never intended to be easy. But with God, it is possible, and I can testify of that.

I would send you a heap of pictures but I currently do not have the means to do so. Thank you so much for your encouragement and give my best regards to the rest of the family, Josh, Joy Joy and my new Aunt. Tell the Ward I love them all to death and that I wouldnt be here without their support. I love you mom and I couldnt do any of this without you. I am so happy to see that life back home is going alright. I currently do not know where the mission will take me next, but in about 97 more weeks I know I will be headed straight back home to you and the others, and in that I take great comfort.

Leave a Reply

