February 4, 2015

Today marks the halfway point of my time here in the MTC. Where the time has gone, I don’t even know. The lessons I learn, the Spirit I feel and the endless opportunities I have been given to grow, develop, and strengthen my testimony and knowledge of this gospel have all been such incredible blessings in my life. I have never had a more profound appreciation for the nature of this gospel.

Truth be told there have been times here I have even shed a little tear. One such instance was during one of our District Meetings on Sunday. Our District Leader and companion Elder Fritz asked us to go around the room and share our testimony of missionary work and why we each chose to leave on our missions. When it came my turn, the prevailing thought that came to my mind was a little line from Give Said the Little Stream. Odd, I know, but I shared with my friends this simple truth: Im small I know but wherever I go, the grass grows greener still. All my life I have felt like the little guy but from my time here, I see that I am made strong when I have the gospel and Spirit to build me up. No matter where I go, if I but try my best, the Lord will carry me through language barriers, feelings of doubt, hardships and trials.

The language itself is coming along fantastically. I am remembering everything I learned in High School and new concepts and words are flooding into my brain each and every day and luckily enough, they’re staying there. Rest assured I am staying safe and healthy. I appreciate your concern and I try my best each day to make sure I am not getting myself into any health troubles. My futbol skills have also grown tremendously since I have been here. I cant quite stack up to the natives yet when it comes to the sport but I have had a great time adjusting to the culture here and learning to communicate with those around me. My investigator lessons, although choppy and done without proper Spanish sometimes have been developing rapidly and I feel so blessed.

My favorite scripture by the way is in Psalms 23. Its the one that talks about “The Lord is my shepherd…though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil for thou art with me”.

I love you all and I continually pray for your well being. These 3 weeks of being away from the people who care so much for me has been very hard but also very uplifting and life changing. 2 years will come fast and when they do, I cant wait to come home and share with you all I have learned.

Love,

Elder Justin Cruz

Leave a Reply

